A letter from a patient

First the bad news.

I attended QA Hospital for a routine out‐patient appointment. I awoke some days later to find that I had come through two emergency operations for colon cancer. From then on, the hospital’s 100% priority was to get me out quickly and I was transferred to Petersfield Hospital for rest and to build my strength back.

Some days later I was asked if I was ready to go home, despite living alone, barely able to walk and still attached by a tube from my stomach to a large vacuum pump; the priority was to free the bed. I went home for care in the community to find it was not easily accessible as the workload of the Community Nurses has increased and there are fewer of them. I have not heard one word from Social Services to this day.

I asked the Community Nurses if I could have a shower and one said that the Rosemary girls might be able to help me.

Now the good news.

A Rosemary nurse arrived and took over my dressings and care. What a difference! Pleasant competent oldfashioned care, no dashing in and out, they arrive when they say and take time for a chat. I am so pleased. I face a short and probably unpleasant future, but with peace of mind that I will receive the care that I need from The Rosemary Foundation nurses.

It’s a sad reflection on our society that the opportunity to access an enhanced level of care within the community appears only to be provided by charities. May your Foundation long continue its excellent work.

Many thanks for all that you have done for me. God bless your endeavours.

A very grateful patient,

Tom Jones

Leave a Reply

